Tags

, , ,

I like to mix and match my table linens.  I’ll use the sage place mats on the ivory tablecloth, or the ivory place mats on the gold tablecloth, etc.  I have a favorite table cloth that is multicolored roses splashed across an ivory background, with lots of coral, greens, yellows, and hints of purple.   I don’t like to put a solid place mat on it.  They just hide the beauty of the roses on the tablecloth.  (I guess you can tell that I love roses.)

I began searching for a pattern for place mats that was special.  Except I couldn’t find a “special” pattern for a place mat.  I found lots of stripe patterns, a few ripple patterns, some circle doily mats, and some plain old single crochet rows.  But, nothing I found on the web, or in my book stash suited me.  Place mats are everyday items, simple rectangles or circles, and who needs a pattern.  Right?

I was flipping through an old leaflet from 1991 for dishcloths, and saw the pattern stitch I wanted for some place mats.  I adapted the Dishcloth #7 from Leisure Arts Leaflet 2077, and increased the size for a place mat.

Shells & Clusters Place Mats

Shells & Clusters Place Mats

I increased the foundation chain from 50 to 62, and used the first two rows of the pattern for 20 rows, alternating a row of shells with a row of clusters.  I chose Peaches & Creme Spearmint Stripes, and finished it with a border of white in single crochet (3 in ea corner), and a second round of hdc (3 in ea corner).  The finished size is 13″ x 18″ (approx).  The shades of greens and whites in the mat softens the place setting, and blends with many of my dishes.  While they are a nice Spring time mat, they can cross over to the holidays during Christmas.  Am very pleased with these.

