Tags

, , , , ,

Here is an example of one of my favorite edgings…. single crochet around, and dc in the back loops.  This provides a definite, clean edge, and frames the entire project.  I adapted the Lacy Trellis from Leisure Arts Afghans on the Double, p. 48.  It is a lovely pattern, but I took one look at it, and thought something’s not right.  The original uses an edging resembling a kind of picot stitch.  My eyes rejected it, as it didn’t match the overall movement of the pattern, which was straight lines.  This straight frame edging now mirrors the  lines within the pattern.  I also added a row of single crochet above the green V stitches, which strengthened the “lines”.  I now wish I had also added a row of single crochet below the green rows, so it would have balanced both sides of the green.

Garden Trellis

Garden Trellis

I wanted a softer sage green as the alternate color, which meant the main color had to move down in shades from cream to white.  My version uses Red Heart Supersaver Soft White as the main color, and Lion Brand’s Vanna’s Choice Sea Spray.  You’ll need about 40 oz of white, and 14 oz of green.   I enjoyed every stitch of this project.

